## Magic City Figure Skating Club Board of Directors Annual Meeting May 22, 2023 MAYSA

- I. Annual Meeting Call to Order: 7:00pm
- II. Roll Call

Present: Chelsea Kirkhammer, Erin Holt, Kadi Ruby, Brittany Miller, Julie Packulak, Brock DesLauriers

Absent: Jaimie Brunner, Katie Fegley Guests:

## III. Old Business

- a. A treasurer's summary report was passed out to those attending.
- b. Chelsea Kirkhammer talked briefly about the 2022-2023 year: overall a successful year, LTS numbers were up, MCFSC was represented by three synchro teams, the annual Ice Show was expanded to three full presentations.
- c. Kadi Ruby reviewed the financial report; no questions from members at large.
- d. Chelsea Kirkhammer started the voting procedure by noting the four open terms. Candidates introduced themselves briefly, (Monte Bloms was not in attendance) then the election committee passed out ballots and votes were cast. Erin Thuner offered that a few members were on their way to the rink and requested a few minutes before voting closed. Chelsea referred to the bylaws and noted no reason for not extending a few minutes for voting. Voting was closed and ballots were counted with the required non-affiliated member of the public.
  - 1. Chelsea Kirkhammer and Kadi Ruby led voter check-in and vote count.
  - 2. The 2023 Nominating Committee was Brock DesLauriers, Julie Packulak and Amy Orth.
  - 3. The votes were counted by the nominating committee, Kadi Ruby (a member of the board not up for election), and Courtney Kuhnhenn (a MAYSA rink employee representing the member of the public not associated with MCFSC).
  - 4. Recorded voters:

Thuner, Holt, Webster, Webster, Sutton, Biggs, Biggs, Miller, Kirkhammer, DesLauriers, Packulak, Orth, Ruby, Crossland, Sorum, Kohlman, Christ, Ramer, Vigness, Thurston

- 5. The final vote tally for each candidate was:
  - i. Monte Bloms: 17
  - ii. Erin Holt: 18
  - iii. Brittany Miller: 19
  - iv. Kim Sutton: 4
  - v. Jennifer Webster: 17

With Monte and Jen tied in voting, the board will vote to assign the open one-year term.

\*\*\*At 7:33pm, the annual meeting concluded and the Board of Directors continued with business.

- IV. Election of 2022-2023 Officers
  - a. Nomination of Chelsea Kirkhammer as President by Erin Holt, second by Brittany Miller. All in favor; motion passes.
  - b. Nomination of Brittany Miller as Vice President by Jen Webster, second by Kadi Ruby. All in favor; motion passes.
  - c. Nomination of Jaimie Brunner as Secretary by Brittany Miller, second by Julie Packulak. All in favor, motion passes.
  - d. Nomination of Kadi Ruby as Treasurer by Erin Holt, second by Brock DesLauriers. All in favor, motion passes.
  - Open one-year term: After discussion, motion for Monte Bloms to fill the last year on the open term by Brock DesLauriers, second by Kadi Ruby. All in favor, motion passes.
  - f. Executive members: Motion to add Brittany Miller and remove Erin Holt from club signature card by Kadi Ruby, second by Julie Packulak. All in favor, motion passes.
- V. Additional Business
  - a. Monthly Summer Coaching Workshops: Discussion about bringing coaches in for information on moves, bringing in skaters that have passed that level and what needs to be done to pass, and then bringing on skaters who are at that level. Ice time and coaches' pay is estimated at \$450 each. Anyone interested in coaching would be welcome to attend.
    - 1. Motion to pay ice time and pay coaches according to their hourly wage, up to \$1,000 total, by Brock DesLauriers, second by Brittany Miller. All in favor, motion passes.
  - b. Discussion on a memorial for judge Miles Johnston who recently passed away. Proposal for a yearly award in Miles' name at the annual banquet for "excellence in testing", such as passing with honors, or recognizing skaters for working hard on ice, work ethic, passed tests, willingness to help, etc. Coaches would nominate one skater, then vote on the nominees. Motion will be introduced following more investigation on an amount for the cost of banquet and the award.
- VI. Next Meeting: Monday, June 12th at 6:00pm in the MAYSA Board Room
- VII. Adjournment of Meeting: 8:00pm